• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Stepping off the “Golden Path”

Volleyball14

None
I am currently in the last few months of my sea tour. My slate comes out soon for next orders to shore tour. I’m a 1320/NFO and instructor. On paper I have everything I need to excel on the golden path in P8 land, however I have realised I am not super passionate about the job and can’t see myself staying on this current trajectory for the rest of my career. I have a biology Pre-physical therapy degree that I was considering trying to use for something more suited to me. I want to pursue furthering my education, but would like to do so on topics I am actually interested in (biology, health, fitness, wellness) MSR is May 2026, so my next shore tour would finish out my commitment to the Navy. I would actually like to try and stay in for 20 years to retirement, just not doing my current job as an NFO. The options I am currently considering are Navy Physical therapist or Naval Aerospace Operational Physiologist. I’d like to know more about these career paths and advice on how I should work this transition into my conversations for orders/shore tour.

Brett327

None
Super Moderator
Contributor
First step should probably be to talk with your local aviation physiologist. If you're in JAX or Whidbey, there should be at least one to consult with.

Volleyball14

None
First step should probably be to talk with your local aviation physiologist. If you're in JAX or Whidbey, there should be at least one to consult with.