• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Some General Inquiries regarding BDCP

OccamsRazor

Final Select BDCP Intel
Hello all, and thanks for reading...

I'm a sophomore at Columbia University double majoring in political science and history, with a focus on international relations and security studies and especially keen on naval history and intelligence. I learned about the BDCP program and have been in contact with a recruiter here in the city who has been extremely helpful; I'm planning to submit my application for Intel in May. I have a 3.7 GPA and a lot of extracurriculars (though not all strictly relevant to Naval Intelligence) but I'm concerned about recommendations; my family is not very military and I don't know any naval officers personally, let alone intelligence officers.

How concerned should I be about the ASTB? I generally score well on standardized tests, but I'm slightly worried by the more technical (weather/aviation/nautical) content and by the more math-oriented focus.

Are there any pitfalls that I should watch out for? I don't see any obvious problems with my application, but is there any gouge someone in a situation similar to mine thinks I would find critical or useful?

Again, thanks for reading and responding.

Ian

BACONATOR

pilot
Contributor
I have NO military in my family. No worries. Get recommendations from people who KNOW you, not some high-ranking officer who will write a form letter.

ASTB isn't hard. Study the gouge on this site and get a prep book and you'll be golden.

As for pitfalls, your recruiter should keep you well informed and there are many threads with many peoples' problems, so if you have a specific question, then search for it and ask if it's a new situation.

Best of luck.