• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

SNFO and family

ibarrasergio33

I am an ex-nuke planning to dive into the NFO community. I am currently an STA21 student graduating this December 2006. Unfortunately my wife is attached to a squadron here in Norfolk and she will be deployed during most of 2007. We are debating sending my five year old son to his grandparents for the entire time I am in Florida for training due to the potential long days and nights of studying. Although the grandparents would love to have him, I feel like I am taking the easy way out.

Does anyone have any experience with a similar situation?? If so would you say I am at a great disadvantage as a single parent whie going through API/Primary??
Advice is welcome.

TurnandBurn55

Drinking, flying, or looking busy!!
None
We had an ex-IT in my class who was a single parent, and he sent his daughter to live with her grandparents also.

It wouldn't be impossible, but it would be difficult... they'd certainly be more lenient toward you than single guys (i.e. probably not calling you Wednesday afternoon to say you're going to Phoenix and San Antonio first thing Thursday morning and won't be back till Monday...)

But still, life as an SNFO is unpredictable... you find out the day before (often that evening) when exactly you're flying... it could be 5 am, it could be 7 pm. And you'll see the schedule change on short notice...

I think the guy I mentioned in my class was certain he made the right decision, even though he missed his kid :(

2NFO's