• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Selecting the MH-53

Status
Not open for further replies.

kaiangel

I was wondering if anyone could tell me about what percentage of helo pilots go into the MH-53. Also, is it one that people tend to want or avoid? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

ChuckMK23

FERS and TSP contributor!
pilot
You can do the math - look at the rather few number of HM squadrons that operate that aircraft - and HC-4 of course.

The MH-53E series is a maintenance intensive aircraft - always has been since day one. When I was an instructor at HT-18, my peers who felew 53's typically had the lowest flight time - The number of squadron pilots to avaoilable/flyable aircraft was high so people were always scrambling to even make their 100 hours/year.

Your best bet is to track towards an H-60 - HC, HS, HSL. HM will go away since the MH-60S will pick up the mine mission and the HC and HS communities will merge with the HSC concept.

If I had it to do over again I'd go HS. All the action is around the carrier - your best bet of seeing combat and tracking career wise is being deployed with a squadron where you can be in contact and visable to your senior leadership. The whole Det concept is really not good for getting ahead IMHO. Also HSL and HC are less likely to be actually deployed in a combat environment.

My two cents...

Ron