• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

recomended pft?

takern

I am a Freshman in college and am going to go through the PLC program, hopefully this summer. I know what the minimum requirements are for the pft to get accepted, but i was wondering what you would reccomend for scores. i can easily run an 18 min 3 mile, and i am at 92 situps. with those scores how many pull ups would i need to be considered by the OSO?

And as a side note if anyone has some helpful hints to success, i am always open

theblakeness

Charlie dont surf!
pilot
well the minimums for pullups is 8 but I definately would not reccomend only doing the minimums. For pullups, I personally wouldnt be comfortable with anything less than 15. Pullups are really easy to build and they are really easy points (each pullup is worth almost a minute of run time).

I have done several different workout programs to build pullups and I saw increase in all of them. the armstrong program is a good start for anyone, but I would definately reccomend buying a pullup bar for your house so its easy to practice.

I personally really like doing pyramid sets as well as 100 rep sets (doing 100 reps in as few sets as possible). I also found getting into the gym and doing lat pulls helped as well as a supplement. This helped me get over the plateau I had at 18 and pushed me to over 20.

Good luck.

takern