• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Pursuing a career in law or SNA

aahernandez310

Hello Members,
A little bit about myself I am 25 years and and am interested and I am heavily considering going down the SNA pathway. I have taken the ASTB and on my first attempt I scored 44/5/6/7. I asked my recruiter if I should retake it and aim for something higher and he said that I should be okay and worst case scenario I can retake it and apply to the next board with a higher score. I graduated from UCLA with a 3.44 GPA and planed on going into law school and I have already taken my LSAT exam last month and scored pretty well on it enough to land me in I'm estimating into a top 25-30 law school. I have read other discussion threads on here and have seen the finance vs SNA debate and it provided me a lot of context and information. However, I have not seen one regarding law. My questions were

1.) If there is anyone here who has been in the same situation and decided on going down the SNA route and how do you feel about your decision currently?
2.) Since I am 25 and expecting a 10-12 year commitment is pursuing a career in law realistic afterwards ?

I would appreciate any advice or pointing me in the direction on where I can find such answers
Thank You !

FLGUY

“Technique only”
pilot
Contributor
Your ASTB scores are on the low end of things. I would try to improve your scores and re-take the ASTB if Naval Aviation is a goal. There -may- be opportunities during your time in the Navy to pursue a master’s degree or a law degree on your own time and potentially the Navy’s dime, or you could potentially laterally transfer into the JAG Corps at some point (although I’ll let others speak to those specifics).