• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

PLC vs NROTC

O'Pry

What are everyone's feelings here on the best way to go concerning PLC or NROTC marine option? I am a freshman in college and am torn between the two. I will either join ROTC second semester, or take my PFT and go PLC, but I don't know which would be best. My ROTC friends all are pushing me in the direction, obviously, so I thought I would ask some impartial people, perhaps some that have been in the position before. I know the differences in training and such, ROTC having the 1 seniors course and PLC have the jr's and seniors, but any advice out there?

Respectfully,

K. O'Pry

los5041

Ko Pry,
The decsion weather to go PLC or ROTC has positives and negatives for both. First thing to think about is your financial situation, If your struggling to pay for school and are not getting enough finacial aid from your school, then you might want to look into ROTC since they pay for your tuition (As long as your package is exepted). Now if your not hurting financially and don't want to look like a weenie walking around campus in a uniform then look into PLC. While your in college you don't have any commitments with PLC and you don't have any sort of classes unlike ROTC. I went through the PLC route myself, on Thursday nights when I was out with my buddies I could stay out until the sun came up unlike my ROTC buddies who had to be at PT at 0530. But what it comes down to is how much time do you really want to put into the military during college. If you want alot of it go ROTC if you only want to spend 12 weeks of it go PLC.

ROTC positives:
Tuition is paid for.
Learn more about the military lifestyle.
Only have to go to OCS for 6 weeks.

ROTC negatives:
Have class every week.