• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

PFT running distances

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vivddreams

I am just beginning as a runner, and ran my first mile since my junior year of high school last night at the gym. I am now a junior in college, and I would like to be running outdoors, rather than on the treadmill. How do you approximate or measure how far you have run when running outdoors? Thanks!

Patrick Daly

Speak to the people at your local gym, they often have routes with specific mileages that you can run. If not, just estimate it based on time depending on how fast you think you're going (7 or 8 minutes for every one mile). Definitely get outside though, I think treadmills can be demoralizing and boring.

Pat

wildflyin69

Grad of OCS 187 Charlie Co. 3rd Plt.
Your school should have a quarter mile track somewhere in it's possesion. Run on that and time yourself. That way when you run off the track you can approximate both by time and by feel how far you've gone. Treadmills suck...every 3 miles on there is only worth one outside.

DBLang

PLC Candidate
I find it much harder to run on a treadmill. Running seems like a mental game to me, and treadmills just kill.

TNWhiskey

2ndLt Charlie Co TBS