• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

NFO vs. Pilot vs. SWO for longterm career

nickerus

that guy
This is my first time posting, and I chose to post here because I've spent countless hours researching Navy careers on various sites, especially this one. I'm a recent college grad (go Bears), degree in physics, decent ASTB scores (64/7/7/8), and I am really into a long-term career as a naval officer. My concerns are now due to the recent cuts going on that have put officers into early retirement and whatnot (mainly NFOs and SWOs, if I'm not mistaken).

My question is this: Am I going to be forced out early going down one career path versus another, all things the same?

I would love to be an NFO, I'd love to be a pilot, and I'd love to be an SWO. I've read all about their differences, and the one thing I haven't really been able to figure out is how they differ long-term, mainly due to people being very concerned with getting out as soon as possible (no offense to anyone). Thanks for reading.

p.s. how can I change my name on this forum from my real name to something a little more anonymous?

insanebikerboy

Internet killed the television star
pilot
None
Contributor
Aircraft need pilots to fly and a large number of Naval aircraft need NFOs too. I can't speak to SWO but if you're getting forced in to an early out/early retirement situation as a pilot or nfo, there will be a good number of other people in the same situation as you. I'd try for something you'd enjoy doing vice worrying about being forced out right now.

robav8r

None
Contributor
I've spent countless hours researching Navy careers on various sites, especially this one . . . . . I would love to be an NFO, I'd love to be a pilot, and I'd love to be an SWO.