• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

New NFO Applicant

Crazy*Carl

I just finished the application process for Naval Flight Officer and will hear if I am selected late next month. First a little about myself.

I am 23 and I graduated college in May with a 3.00 in Aerospace Engineering. I am an FAA certified commercial pilot and CFI/CFII with about 400 hours. I scored an 8/8/9/60 on the ASTB. I currently work as a civilian Flight Instructor.

My eyesight doesn't meet naval aviator minimums (I have about 20/400). I am aware of the PRK possibility, but am deciding not to do this mainly because the NFO position highly interests me and PRK requires a long wait followed by a very uncertain chance of selection. I already have all my ratings/certificates (except ATP) and I think NFO will be a excellent experience whether I enter the aerospace industry after, or even decide to go to the airlines. I am sure I will have plenty of opportunity to fly on the side in the Navy or perhaps even instruct at naval flying clubs.

I have been reading these forums extensively trying to get a feel for what an NFO is. From what I have learned, it seems like a job that interests me and one I can excel in.

A few questions I have for any current or former NFO's:

-How often do you fly (both stationed on a carrier or land)?
-What do NFO's specifically do when they are not flying, training, or flight planning/briefing?
-If I do very well in API/Primary, do I have a good shot at landing on an Super Hornet or Growler NFO slot?
-Are they still going to be taking Prowler SNFO's in a year or are they transitioning most to the Growler?
-How long is a typical carrier deployment? I have heard anywhere from 3-6 months.