• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

My chances at Marine OCS?

lusos

A man's gotta eat
Hi all, first of all I would like to thank the admins for such a great forum. I have been browsing through threads for the past few days and recently decided that it be wise to create an account. However, I do have a question about how competitive I look on paper for a prospective pilot applying for Marine OCS and I figure this is the best place to ask.

With that being said, I am a senior Mechanical Engineering student with a 3.45 GPA and a scholarship from the Nuclear Regulatory Commission. I transferred in from a local community college and in the last year everything is seeming to fit into place quite nicely. I hope to graduate in a few semesters and start my M.S. in Systems Engineering immediately thereafter.

My work history is varied, I work as a student assistant for a particular research institute on an local Air Force Base. I have worked jobs mowing grass, lifeguarding, wood shop fabrication, and have been manager at a local water park for 3 years. I also fabricate performance car parts on the side (TIG, MiG, CNC, etc.)

As for extracurricular I am a member of FormulaSAE, 4H modified-trap team, and served as a volunteer firefighter and EMT since I turned age 18. I also run 4-6 miles per day.

However, I do have bad vision, though I anticipate getting PRK before shipping off, so I do not anticipate any problem with a waiver.

What do I need to do to look competitive on a resume? Thanks!