• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

MV-22 in trouble??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mahler

I read over the above mentioned article and the pentagon's explination of what may have happened really caught my eye. As an engineer, I can tell you that Vortex Ring State is a very real and very dangerous condition. In fact, it is the main cause for loss of tail rotor effectiveness. If it occours around the main rotor(s), the aircraft may become unrecoverable. If the pilot's of that V-22 did not have enough training in the helo curriculum, they may have not had a good understanding of what it is and how to avoid it. Does anyone know how much helo training they recieved??? I've heard it is just an abbreviated course - not a good idea for any type of rotor-wing aircraft.

James

OracleMSU

Civvy SNA Hopeful
Loss of tail rotor effectiveness? The MV-22 doesn't have a tail rotor. How does vortex ring state apply to two counter rotating main rotors?

-----OracleMSU--------

Mahler

Loss of tail rotor effectiveness is just what it sounds like. At certain orientations into the wind, the tail rotor can become less effective (because of vortex ring state) and the pilot basically has a harder time keeping the aircraft pointed in one direction. A main rotor and a tail rotor are basically the same thing, except the tail rotor is smaller and lies in a different plane. In the case of tandem rotor craft like the V-22, directional control is created by an interaction between the two rotors. If you decend too quickly and create a Vortex Ring around the rotors of a V-22, it can possibly be worse than a conventional helicopter because you don't have a tail rotor to help you recover.