• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Motivational Statement Help

Donald Auld

Hey Guys,

Just a quick background, I am a Senior Civil Engineering Student and I want to be a Naval Aviator. I will be taking the ASTB this friday and I know that doing well here is imperative. However, from what I have read the Motivational Statement can be a huge player in weather or not a candidate is selected. I have spent quite a bit of time on my Motivational Statement and I was hoping I could get some constructive criticism. So here goes...

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

A man, and a Naval Officer, should be able to hold his head high and state his name with a sense of pride, pride in who he is and the things he has accomplished.

Five years ago, I was not a man who was capable of fulfilling this statement. I was an overweight Texas state prison guard with no plans or aspirations to achieve more, and I certainly was not proud. I knew this was not what I wanted out of life, and at the time I wasn’t sure what I wanted, but I did know I could not use my current situation to attain it.