• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

MECEP and Marine NROTC

ctusmc1999

Even though it is a very long winded version of NROTC, MECEP is a great way to gain your commissioning via Marine Crops. I started my service in 1999 when I graduated from PI and I have been in since. I originally applied for the BOOST Program as a LCpl but was not accepted so I pushed through the next 2 years before I decided to apply to the MECEP Program. From LCpl to Sgt I was in full-time school at the University of Maryland Asian Division in Okinawa, then at Northern Virginia CC until I earned two AS in Science in General Studies and Biology. I will tell you that going to class while on active duty is a great way to get a FREE college education but it comes at a social and physical cost. You are usually in class until late in the evening so the early mornings come quickly and instead of going out with your fellow Devil Dogs to BBB's or Hooters you have to stay in the Barracks to study for an exam the next day. In the long run it is worth it because nothing is better for a leader of Marines than higher education. (At least that's what I tell myself everyday as an excuse for not having fun) Once I was accepted to MECEP I headed to Tufts University in Medford, MA where I will be completing my degree in Politics in January. Because I had college behind me, I was able to graduate it early which ended up saving me over 20,000 in tuition fees. With a tuition of over 43,000 a year I decided to add the "kicker" to my GI Bill. It was one of the best decisions I could have made in my situation. I do advise everyone to pay the extra $600 for an added $150 a month for 36 months.