• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Math in Aviation

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grassynome

Hello, I am currently a sophomore at ASU and looking into the possibility of naval aviation, either for fighter planes, or helos I think would even be awesome. My question is if there is a lot of math in aviation or any special skill that you need (besides good hand eye coordination) that I could possibly take classes to get better at before I graduate.
Thanks!

C420sailor

Former Rhino Bro
pilot
Basic mental math. "My engine just took a shit, I'm at 10,000ft, and my airplane has a glide ratio of 10:1. How far can I glide this piece?" It's not exactly rocket science.

Outside of the airplane, you will be challenged with more difficult problems. For example, if a case of Budweiser is $14.99 and has 4.0% ABV and a case of Bud Ice is $17.99 and has 5.9% ABV, which one will yield more poor life decisions per dollar spent?

Special skills required? Drinking, pulling tail, and not being a douche.

P3 F0

None
Basic mental math. "My engine just took a shit, I'm at 10,000ft, and my airplane has a glide ratio of 10:1. How far can I glide this piece?" It's not exactly rocket science.

Outside of the airplane, you will be challenged with more difficult problems. For example, if a case of Budweiser is $14.99 and has 4.0% ABV and a case of Bud Ice is $17.99 and has 5.9% ABV, which one will yield more poor life decisions per dollar spent?

Special skills required? Drinking, pulling tail, and not being a douche.