• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Married with children

smonahan

I have used the search function to no avail trying to find answers to questions pertaining to bringing the family to flight training. Anybody with advice/experience/expertise please chime in. Things I'm curious about are, living on base(good or bad), is my dog going to be a problem, will the Navy pay to have me move my family to Pensacola directly following OCS or is there a wait, does your family move with you if you get sent to meridian, corpu, etc, and generally life with families while in flight school? Thanks.

picklesuit

Dirty Hinge
pilot
Contributor
Wow, lots of questions...I'll answer a few.

Family in flight training is both a burden and a blessing. I graduated from OCS when my wife was 38 weeks pregnant. We had our first kid while I was in A-Pool for API. I had the opportunity to see my son born at the Pensacola NH, and had minimal responsibilities until I started API in late May. When we moved to Vance AFB I had on base housing. The military paid for the move as it is a PCS move; DLA, Dity, Travel, the whole works.