• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Letters of Recommendation

chipjones

Hey everyone, I have no Navy experience and don't know anyone in the armed forces. I was just curious who are some of the best people to get LORs from other than Navy officers...etc...??

thanks for any suggestions

MasterBates

Here are some of the people who I used for my LORs

Mechanical Engineering professor who used to teach at USNA before coming to my school.
Humanities Professor who was a SWO and retired as a reserve Captain.
Chief of the local Fire Department who was my next door neighbor growing up and whom I had worked for during High School and College.
My boss from when I was an Intern at Pratt & Whitney

I'd look for "Pillars of the Community" types and former Military. I'd bet more than a couple of your professors have been in the service.

A professor who did the 5 and dive from ROTC as a SWO who knows you well would be better than the Active Duty USAF Major who your cousin dated briefly when he was a 2LT and you met once.

A manager at a business (or the owner) who knew you well from years of part time work is better than the Fortune 500 CEO you met once at a scholarship dinner.

LazersGoPEWPEW

4500rpm
Contributor
Focus on getting letters from people that know you well. But don't narrow yourself to people that have known for you all your life. It might be wise to have some who know you on a more personal level and then others on more professional level.

My letters of reference were as follows.

A USAF O-1 who was a good friend from high school and my church back home.

A retired USN O-5 Hornet pilot who coincidentally is my girl's father.