• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

jet availability

Status
Not open for further replies.

el_riddle

60 bubba
okay, this may be dumb and inconsistant with much of what i've read, but i thought i would check the rumor out with you guys. i was told that 60% of all navy air crafts are jets of some sort, therefore 60% of all aviators candidates get jets. is any of this true?
luke

el_riddle

60 bubba
i completely realize this is probably a ridiculous question, but if someone could shed some light on it, i would be very appreciative. thanks
luke

Ed Williams

I'm in primary right now, and i'm no expert, but i can tell you that the Navy is over 50% helos, 10-20% heavies, and the rest is jets. I bit of advice, when it comes time to select a primary location, if you want jets, DO NOT go to whiting field. The vast majority of WF grads end up in helos. Take it for what you will. Any questions, feel free to ask
ed

Paul Burke

Do you know how long that trend has been and why?
I know it's probably a bad thing that I want jets so bad. Is it really that hard to get the scores to qualify for jets? Do you get to choose where you do primary or is it assigned to you?

webmaster

The Grass is Greener!
pilot
Site Admin
Contributor
Luke, as Ed mentioned, the majority of pilot slots goes to Helos, since that is what the Navy has the most of, from there you have the Jet and Prop/E6 communities.