• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Ironman Weighted Vest

jt71582

How do you fly a Clipper?
pilot
Contributor
Is anyone here working out with the Ironman Weighted Vest (up to 40lbs added)?

weighted_vest.jpg

I just got one of these for a graduation gift and worked out with it today, I loved it. I did a 2 mile run with 20lbs added, as well as pushups and situps. I recommend it to anyone who has hit a plateau in their workout and is looking for something to add a little extra. It'll be interesting to see if this improves my 1.5 mile time, I'll keep you all posted.

Morgan81

It's not my lawn. It's OUR lawn.
pilot
Contributor
I've been training with one for a few months now. I ran my best time at the last PRT and I'm feeling better each time I run. I'm sold on it 100%.

lmnop

While I haven't used the Ironman specifically, I have used weighted vests of one variety or another for PT. I really like them for pullups, sprints or short runs (<1 mile). The workout Murph, which has been mentioned on here, from Crossfit is a great example of incorporating it. I'd be cautious about performing long runs with the weight vest though as it adds alot of wear and tear on your parts and pieces, specifically your lower back. But, my lower back feels like hammered dogshit most of the time, so my opinion may be skewed.

feddoc

Really old guy
Contributor
I think those things are a great training aid. OP was right about the training plateau.

Tyler

!
pilot
Contributor
I wear one while in bed with my lady friends. It's improved my thrusts by 50/minute.

srqwho

pilot