• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Introduction (The post is long and all about myself. Read at your own discretion)

Dmitriy

Hello everyone!

I'm new here so I figure I'd take the time to introduce myself. I'm Dmitriy and I was born in Russia. I've been living in the States for over half of my life and a year and a half ago I finally got my American citizenship, which to me meant that being an officer in the Armed Forces could be something more than a pipe dream. This past May I graduated from Carnegie Mellon in Pittsburgh.
My freshman year I briefly entertained the idea of joining the NROTC program at CMU - we didn't have Army or AF, so Navy won by default. I talked to the Btn. Commander about my peculiar situation - how I wouldn't be able to receive any money for it or a commission at the end. In the end I decided against it, dismissing the idea as youthful and naive infatuation with the uniform and, perhaps, residual effect of the stress associated with adjusting to college.
Instead of joining the ROTC program I joined CMU's rowing team. I have to say I fell in love with the sport. Over the years I went on to become the varsity captain. I never regretted abandoning the idea of doing NROTC. I have to confess I quietly smiled to myself knowing that the crew trained EVERY day at 0500 while the mids thought themselves tough sh!t for running PT at 0530 Monday-Wednesday-Friday.