• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Interservice transfer

Oh-58Ddriver

Scouts Out!
None
Contributor
Has anyone out there done an interservice transfer from the Army? I am currently a helo pilot in the Army. I love flying helos on this side, but unfortunately I am an O-3 and thats when the Army likes to take you out of the cockpit and put you behind a desk. I have heard Navy flies their guys longer, since there are no warrant officers to do it. Anyone out there know what crossing over is like and how tough/easy it is? Know any POCs? Also, the likelihood a helo pilot could get a stuck-wing job in the Navy?

Thanks!

gunfighter77

pilot
http://aptap.forumco.com/

This is a website that was initially made for Army pilots transitioning to Airline pilots but it has great info on all flying jobs. The Coast Guard included, you can also search Airwarriors for good Coastie info.

I have not done an inter-service transfer but I am looking at transfering to the Coast Guard. You lose one grade if you are an O-3 but the Quality of Life and hours of flying will probably make up for the pay reduction. I think you would be making a huge mistake by changing over to a Warrant Officer or joining the Navy.

Aaron

AH-1W

gunfighter77

pilot
How much longer do you have to give the Army? You should try to stick it out until your commitment is up and then check out the Coast Guard. The Navy has some of the same issues; placing more importance on your ground job than flying. If I were to transition to another service it would have to be the Air Force or Coast Guard for quality of life. When are you heading over here?