• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Interested in USMC Aviation.

Status
Not open for further replies.

akoni78

Hello,

I am interested in becoming a USMC fighter pilot, but I am a beginner and I have a few questions. Let me explain my situation first. I recently graduated (5/02) from with a Bachelors degree in Computer Science. I am currently working full time as a software engineer (making good bucks too!), but I have always had a passion to be a fighter pilot. I would really love to fly the Hornet (and from what I read, I am not the minority!). So, I am basically at square one (except I have a four-year degree in a technical field). I have to admit that my biggest concern is the risk involved with joining. There is no garentee that I will be able to fly the Hornet. I don't mean to sound flaky, but I do have a good career and I would be taking a risk by joining. My questions are:

- Can they garentee someone like myself an "air" slot, before I agree to join?

- Does an "air" slot imply that you will definately be an aviator (assuming you pass your tests and such) and not become and NFO or something?

- Do they have programs to pay of collage loans (since I was not ROTC or anything)?

- If for some reason, I don't get to fly, would they place me at a Computer job (since I have a CS degree)? Also, if this situation occurs, would I still be held into the 8-10 yr contract?

- What is the sequnce of events I would have to go through? (Is it: boot camp, PFT, OSC, TBS, API, Primary, Intermediate, Advanced) and how long would this process take (including "wait times" and/or "delays")?

- Am I too old to begin? (I am 23. turning 24 in December)

-Do I have a disadvantage (in terms of flying) going in without having done ROTC???