• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Instrument Rating prior to OCS

paddybh1583

OCS 6 OCT 2013
Good Morning AW. I am a Pro-Rec NFO living in Southern California.

From reading other threads about the NFO pipeline I have noticed many training flights include instrument flights. With that said I was wondering if the monetary investment into getting an instrument rating prior to OCS is worth it?

I know an instrument rating will benefit me as a pilot regardless. However, working at a FBO does not equal having a fat wallet thus forcing me to wake wise decisions with my money.

KBayDog

...working at a FBO does not equal having a fat wallet thus forcing me to wake wise decisions with my money.

You just answered your own question.

You're already involuntarily "investing" in your Navy-funded instrument training via the forced seizure of your income your income taxes.

BusyBee604

St. Francis/Hugh Hefner Combo!
pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor

From reading other threads about the NFO pipeline I have noticed many training flights include instrument flights. With that said I was wondering if the monetary investment into getting an instrument rating prior to OCS is worth it?
NO!
I know an instrument rating will benefit me as a pilot regardless. However, working at a FBO does not equal having a fat wallet thus forcing me to wake wise decisions with my money.
As a SNFO, you will receive all the instrument training you will need.. on Uncle's dime. Financing a civilian instrument rating prior to OCS, would probably put you behind the 8-ball financially, for years into the future.

As the legendary Marine Aviator KBay said, "You just answered your own question"!;)
BzB

yakboyslim

None