• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

In depth question about eligibility for OCS

jiminy

Hello,

I am an 8 1/2 year enlisted veteran. I was an Aviation Electronics Technician, but I only had about 3 good years of troubleshooting experience, all the other time I was in collateral duties (long unimportant story there).

I got out of the military in part so I could finish college. I graduated from University of North Texas with honors, 3.61 GPA, English Literature major and Social Sciences minor.

My DD-214 has a reenlistment code of RE-4. I was separated due to high-year tenure (I was an E-4 with over 8 years of service).

However, I had been an E-5 until about 3 months before my separation. I received NJP reduction in rate due to a DUI. I think what happened is that the captain didn't realize he was essentially ending my career, possibly because he wasn't aware of the new high-year tenure change from 10 to 8 years? (he mentioned at the mast that I would have a chance to make back my rank and even asked my senior chief to make sure I "studied hard").

I was informed by everyone up and down the chain that I could receive a waiver and be able to reenlist. However, at the time I was less than 3 semesters from graduating, and I was very angry about the way the entire command was treating me (I was being berated daily by chiefs and officers I had personally seen get into cars and drive while completely wasted, but they just never got caught), so I decided to just ride out the last 3 months and let the navy pay me a big separation pay ($20,000). I figured, if they want to ruin my career, I will let them essentially pay me for getting my DUI.