• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Immediate Family Background

Status
Not open for further replies.

04Hopeful

EA3 -> IS3 -> Intel O1(hopefully)
Wanted to see if anyone has heard of this similar information. My recruiter told me that in the background investigation for security clearance for Intel, they check to see if all immediate family members (parents, brothers, spouse) are also US citizens. If not they will reject your application for security clearance? In turn of course this will also affect your chance of getting into Intel. Can anyone shed light on this?

Pete

I'm a student jet pilot, and both of my parents are foreign born and only one is currently an American citizen, and I haven't had a problem yet with any security clearance applications since I started doing them 6 years ago. I'm sure they may be a little more stringent for intel, but I have never heard it being a problem for any friends of mine who are intel guys. For a definite answer I wouldn't rely on the recruiter or myself, but inquire into whoever does your background check.

mimisoko9

Three of my brothers were born in and adopted from Korea. I am applying pilot/NFO and had to provide their naturalization certificate numbers, date and court of issue.

If they are not citizens, you will probably be asked to provide their alien/visa registration numbers and the like. If you or your family members don't have the info readily available, put those wheels in motion NOW. You could be faced with long waiting periods and many circular conversations.

If they're illegal, I have no idea what that means for you. Hope it helps and good luck.

-Mimi

stevew

I have heard the same thing, however I have also heard that there is a waiver for it!