• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

I would greatly appreciate some advice/enlightenment.

Reiner445

I want to join the Navy, so here goes...

I am currently a college student at Clemson University. I am double majoring in Computer Engineering and Electrical Engineering with a minor in Mathematics. I will complete my pre-med requirements on graduation. I have a 3.2 GPA which is increasing each semester and I have completed two years of schooling with 87 credit hours completed.

Here's my problem - I am also a Cooperative Education student which means I am part of a program that allows me to take 3 rotations of work (2 semesters and 1 summer session, or 3 semesters total) before I graduate. In essence, my university extends my scholarships for one year and I retain full time student status the entire duration.

Currently I am committed to a company which I will go to work for in less than one month. I am considering between the 2-year NROTC and 36-month BDCP programs as to which will better suit my situation. However, both programs have certain drawbacks...

NROTC is an issue, first and foremost, because my school does not have a Naval ROTC program. So in order to follow that pathway, I would have to transfer schools and manipulate my co-op rotations to work for one year straight before I apply. This is because of the Spring application deadline for the 2-year scholarship and the fact it will take 3 years to graduate.