• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

How long does it take to get a commission

Status
Not open for further replies.
I recently enlisted in the Navy. I leave for basic in august and I have a college degree. How long should it take before I am eligible to be commissioned? My job will be AT, and I would like to apply for flight school as soon as possible, however I will turn 25 at bootcamp. Do I have enough time to get a commission and get accepted to flight school? I plan on getting my private pilot's license while I am enlisted, and I have heard that will influence whether or not I get accepted to flight training. I know I'm a little too old to go officer as a prior enlisted sailor, but with an english degree and a less than perfect gpa I was told that the Navy would not accept me as an officer candidate. Someone please give me some advice.

thanks,

derek

Cordespc

None
Contributor
Derek,
I commend your decision to enlist, and congratulate you on chosing to be an AT. I've been in for almost 7 years now and I've loved every minute of it. The AT rate is full of challenges and opportunities, but I have to wonder why you chose to enlist vice apply for a commission.