• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

How Difficult Is It To Get Into PLC/OCC?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jelly

Ok guys (and possibly gals?)...I'm a big-time newbie here, so I'm looking for all the information and insight I can get into the world of becoming an officer.

At this point, I have my sights set on becoming an aviator in the USMC.

I'm now a sophomore in college, and basically, to tell you the truth, I've pretty much messed around for two years, taking all the gen. ed classes, taking advantage of my freedom, and pretty much just messin' around. Let's just say my GPA isn't the best around.

Now though, and this sounds kinda weird, but I've become focused and want to turn my life around, pick a path to pursue, and do the best I can.

As far as I can tell, there are two ways for a civilian to become a Marine Corps officer...either by the Platoon Leaders Class or the Offficer Candidate Class.

I don't know how much experience you all on here have with these "classes", but how hard are they to get into?

I take it they are much, much more difficult than just "signing up"?

I really want to become an officer, but I'm very much afraid that no matter how good I do in my next two years pursuing a bachelors degree, my previous two years goofing around will keep me from "getting in".

Thank for any help.

Jelly.

Dexter80

Jelly,

The first thing you need to do is to contact the OSO (Officer Selection Officer) for your area. You can find this from www.marineofficer.com or just visit a local enlisted recruiting office and they can point you in the right direction.