• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

How different is a military career than a corporate job?

treb

Hello,

I'm currently a Computer Engineering student and have completed a couple of "corporate" internships so far during my education and have really not enjoyed them due to having a hard time adjusting to "corporate culture." I've done some research about commissioning and am finding mixed messages over whether you will be "flying a desk" as an aviator your whole career. My question is if commissioning into the Navy as an aviator or SWO through OCS after I graduate would at least be able to push off the drag and boredom of the corporate world for a couple of years?

Thanks for any help and responses!

Sonog

pilot
Hello,

I'm currently a Computer Engineering student and have completed a couple of "corporate" internships so far during my education and have really not enjoyed them due to having a hard time adjusting to "corporate culture." I've done some research about commissioning and am finding mixed messages over whether you will be "flying a desk" as an aviator your whole career. My question is if commissioning into the Navy as an aviator or SWO through OCS after I graduate would at least be able to push off the drag and boredom of the corporate world for a couple of years?

Thanks for any help and responses!

Imagine TPS reports, spreadsheets, and buzzword after buzzword. But it takes you 20 minutes to log onto a computer and open outlook just to look at the first email of the day....yeaaa Hi.

treb

What exactly about the corporate world did you not like? There's a distinct culture in the Navy that you will need to adjust to. It isn't all choker whites, dining outs, and port calls in Thailand.