• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Highest possible rank right after OCS

Status
Not open for further replies.

ard

I contacted a recruiter online via the chat option at www.navy.com/. She said that it is possible (not necessarily easy) for someone who goes to OCS to get a commission at a rank higher than O-1. She implied that the decision was made by the board. What are the requirements for that?

Also, I qualify for a position as scientist within the Staff Corps, but I'd rather join as a Line Officer (unrestricted, if possible). What are my options? An important point is that as a Staff Officer I might be able to join at O-3 or O-4 due to my experience and credentials. (I have a Ph.D. with about 15 years of professional experience.) Can I graduate OCS and enter as O-3 at least?

webmaster

The Grass is Greener!
pilot
Site Admin
Contributor
What do you desire to do in the Navy, what communities are you interested in? The direct commissions at higher ranks are for needed skill sets in specific restricted line positions (medical being the most common).

ard

My first option is to become a SEAL, but at 38, it might be very difficult to get an age waiver. A former SEAL and SEAL instructor, though, told me that the oldest he's seen at BUDs is 39. So there is a very slim chance I could get in.
I am also interested and capable of cryptographic work, so becoming and Information Warfare Officer is my second option.
My third option is Intel.

Flash

SEVAL/ECMO
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
My first option is to become a SEAL, but at 38, it might be very difficult to get an age waiver. A former SEAL and SEAL instructor, though, told me that the oldest he's seen at BUDs is 39. So there is a very slim chance I could get in.