• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Helo ditching procedure

wink

War Hoover NFO.
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
I am a volunteer tactical flight officer for my Sheriff's aviation support unit. We regularly fly over lakes and rivers, frequently at night and sometimes taking off and landing over lakes. That doesn't even count the low and slow flying over water as the mission requires. Every time I am in this environment I think to my USN dunker training. None of my fellow volunteer crew, or full time guys, has had dunker training, not even the retired Army aviators. So it fell to me to provide a brief on underwater egress procedures. I am good with that, I remember the standard USN procedures. My question is about actual helo pilot stuff (note double anchors). We fly OH-58s and a Bell 407 with no flotation or rotor brake. The former Army guys always brief that if they are in control after a landing or auto to water, they will roll the aircraft to the right. The purpose is to stop the blades in the safest manner (blades rotate clockwise). I have never heard such a thing in a Navy briefing. What say you helo types? Just because I got dunked a dozen times or so over the years I am the subject matter expert. I want to address their standard procedure like I know what I am talking about. I would like to say if it is going to float upright for even a couple minutes, let it. I expect the main rotor will mast bump or otherwise breakup on water entry anyway. Helo bubbas take it away...

BigIron

Remotely piloted
pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor