• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

OCS GPA with a double major...

iwrru

Hi guys, been reading for a few weeks, this is my 2nd post and my 1st thread.

Searched the forums but couldn't find a great answer, so here goes:

I am applying to Navy OCS as a pilot (SNA). I am a licensed private pilot with an instrument rating.

A bit worried before submitting my application, as it relates to college grades.

Double-majored at a top-rate University of California campus.
  • One is a very "technical," "flight-y" degree: B.S. in Mechanical Engineering.
  • The other was a B.A. in German.
Overall GPA was a 2.848. Let's just put it this way: I graduated with high honors (magna cum laude) in German, and Engineering dragged it down.

My officer recruiter assured me not to worry about it. He said that the board just cares about the combined GPA.

Reading this forum and doing some research, I guess aviators need a minimum 2.5 overall GPA. I am "well above" that, in the sense that a ~2.85 GPA is not a nail-biter, but I am just worried about my engineering grades ruining the impression of my grades overall.

I plan to get in on the back of a very strong ASTB score and my background as a licensed pilot with >200 hours.

I just hope that all of this won't be for nothing because of very unremarkable engineering grades...

Thoughts?

TF7325

pilot
Contributor
Do well on the ASTB and you’ll be fine. Search around the forum for gouge on the test. Best of luck!

FormerRecruitingGuru

Making Recruiting Great Again

I am applying to Navy OCS as a pilot (SNA). I am a licensed private pilot with an instrument rating.

A bit worried before submitting my application, as it relates to college grades.