• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Enlistment vs OCS time

Status
Not open for further replies.

Troy

I am a civilian college grad and I've been having a really tough time getting any job, and the military seems really attractive, but nobody ever told me just how long it could take to get into an officer program. I've been going through the application process since last September! If I come up non-select or fail to hear anything in another month I'm really considering enlistment, despite advice to the contrary. My question is, how long would it take to end up at basic training? It seems to me it should be a much quicker process (especially since I've completed the medical and physical requirements.) Also, I know it's possible to request OCS while enlisted, but, again, you have to wait. Does anybody know what the wait period is in that case (just to submit an application after enlistment, I mean) Thanks.

slasher

OCC 186 Bound
If you enlist, don't plan on shipping anytime soon. I know guys trying to do that who are getting ship dates almost a YEAR out from now!!! That was unheard of when I enlisted in 1997...

Technically, you can submit an OCS app as soon as you hit your "A School," but most C.O.'s want to get a better impression of a Sailor before they'll endorse an OCS app. Most guys reach their permanent duty station first, then work hard to impress the hell out of their Command-maybe 1 or even 2 years- then submit. Be sure to talk to your CCC asap if you wind up enlisting.

Sabre170

None