• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

enlisting first then applying to be an officer

jayswrld25

I found this web site and I think this could be a huge asset for me. I am a recent college graduate and have always had aspirations of joining the military. I went to marine corps ocs last summer and ended up with a horrible infection which was grounds for separation. I don't want to go through another situation like that and end being sent home. I decided to enlist into the Navy because I received the job that I wanted and a nice package regarding my student loans/bonus. I also have been doing research regarding becoming an officer and have come to the realization that service members can apply to ocs immediately after basic training. So I figure why not enlist and then apply to OCS and then when I go to ocs I will be even more prepared due to my experience in the service. My recruiter also keeps bringing up the STA program and says that If I get accepted to the STA program that I won't have to go to OCS and I would have to just go to a 4 week program that would just educate me on how to be an officer.
Please critize my decision, offer any suggestions or recommendations, past experiences.
Thank you.

Thisguy

Pain-in-the-dick
My recruiter also keeps bringing up the STA program and says that If I get accepted to the STA program that I won't have to go to OCS and I would have to just go to a 4 week program that would just educate me on how to be an officer.

That's a crock of sh it. If you already have your degree, you are not eligilbe for STA-21. Also, don't expect to be able to apply to OCS right after boot camp. You'll have to prove yourself as an enlisted sailor and gain the endorsement of your command.