• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Enlisted to Officer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mc

Hi!
Just out of interest I was wondering how long must an enlisted person wait after enlisting before they can apply to OCS? For example, if I enlist into a CTI position, finish CTI school, and start working, how long until I can apply and ship off to OCS assuming I have a degree? Must I finish my full commitment with the enlisted CTI position or can I go onto an officer position to finish that commitment, or would finishing the OCS require me to have an all new commitment added onto the other one or would it just continue until my old enlisted commitment ends? In other words, does a five year enlisted commitment have to be finished before applying for OCS and then after OCS I have five more years commitment or what? Thanks.

-Mc

mbeaser

If you enlist, you can apply for OCS as soon as you finish boot camp. However, you will in reality need to get to a permanant duty station and spend enough time there (no less than 6 months, realistically) for your Chain of Command to recommend you. No board will pick you up without a good CO's endorsement and you won't be able to get that until you have been around long enough to prove yourself. I'm frankly unsure of the mechanics of how they decide how much time you are obligated to, I believe they may require 4 years at commissioning and then after you complete any training you obligate to more service.
Missy

AZSkegee