• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

enlist with college degree or OCS

Hello everybody, I'm looking for some advice about enlisting in the navy with a degree or applying for OCS.

I'll be honest, I was never motivated to go to college but I persevered and finished because my father and brother started and never finished. All of my aunts, uncles, and cousins on both sides of my family are college graduates so I felt pressured to go even though I was never crazy or passionate about it.

Joining the military has been an itch that I never scratched because I didn't want to make any excuses to quit college because I probably would have never returned if I left.

I graduated last December with a bachelors of arts in Electronic Media, a fancy word for Broadcast Journalism/TV News, from Texas State University. My GPA was 2.75, but to me, a GPA is just a gauge of someone's discipline and attitude. That's one reason why I am leaning towards joining the military. I believe it will challenge me and bring out the best in me.

I know my OCS package would be considered weak because of my degree type and GPA. I'm not interested in being a pilot. I'm looking into Supply, Crypto, Intel, or Public Affairs.

Would a high OAR score help?

Is it out of the ordinary for someone to enlist with a degree, finish their enlistment contract then apply for OCS?

If so, would I be eligible for an age waiver?

Or can you enlist with a degree and apply for OCS during your enlisted contract?

I just turned 28 in February and was thinking about enlisting because I have some student loans to pay off and I understand that the LRP is only available for enlisted.

I haven't spoken with a recruiter just yet, I just want to be prepared before I go.

Thanks.