• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Do you use an iPad in the cockpit? Would you?

What are your feelings on institution of an iPad type device as a replacement for a chart/pub bag?

• Total voters

Purdue

Chicks Dig Rotors...
pilot
Fellow AirWarriors,

I'm doing a Master's Research paper on the costs and incentives to switch from paper flight pubs to an electronic display device like an iPad.

I know some of you have made the switch, or have info into the situation, and I'd appreciate talking to some of you. If you have experience with this, or know some of the associated costs (or cost savings) of your unit switching to an iPad I would REALLY appreciate a PM or e-mail.

Specific things that come ot my mind are:
*Costs of acquiring devices
*Current costs of purchasing pubs throughout the year
*Costs of purchasing electronic versions of the pubs vice paper copies
*Costs savings of not having to ship boxes of new pubs to the squadron
*Ability/problems with updating pubs electronically when deployed
*Any problems you have actually experienced
*Airframe distinctive issues (Helo vs Jet vs Larger fixedwing)

I know this has been implemented in some places (http://www.popsci.com/technology/article/2012-02/air-force-buying-ipads-replace-flight-bags or http://www.dodbuzz.com/2011/06/10/marine-aviators-new-weapon-the-ipad/)