• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Cryptology and foreign languages?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jonathan83

I'm a senior at a major university in Texas, and I'm looking into the Navy because I have a very high interst in foreign languages and computers. My major is Spanish, and my GPA is (not very competitive) a 3.0. I've been researching the cryptology field (and intel field as well) for quite some time now on the Navy.com website, and it seems exactly what I'd like to do. I would absolutely love to learn a new language at the DLI, etc. but is that only for enlisted? I would rather go the officer route, but I'd like to know the difference in these 2 jobs. I know getting into OCS will be hard, etc. but before I even think about doing that, I'd like to know what I'd be getting into.

So, I know that enlisting to become a CTI would mean going to Monterey and learn a new language, but would the Officer program let me learn a new language as well?

Any other info. you have about crypto I'd love to hear it! (intel as well), or if there are any other programs that specifically deal with learning a new language and using it.

zab1001

pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor