• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Couple Questions....

TheMattAttack

First off, I'm new to the site and I must admit I'm very impressed. Second I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right section or not, but here it goes. I'm a freshman in college studying aerospace engineering and I'd really like to become a pilot. Preferably, in the navy. I spoke with an officer recruiter earlier and he said that you need a 3.7 gpa just to be competitive for a flight spot? Does that sound about right? I guess what I'm getting at is what branch of the service has the best oppurtunity for attaining a flight spot? And what program would be the best one to go through for a flight spot? Any info you guys can provide would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Thisguy

Pain-in-the-dick
First of all, I'd say having a 3.7 gives you a warm fuzzy, but the Navy doesn't have GPA cutoffs and what not, especially when some majors are harder than others.

The Navy and Marines will both let you know that you'll have a flight slot prior to heading to OCS...I would assume that the Air Force does the same.

The two options that look good for you now would be the Navy's BDCP (they pay you to finish school, then you go to OCS) or Marine PLC (two six week summer sessions, one after your soph year, one after your junior year).

USFpilot06

pilot