• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

could someone please review my narrative, CG OCS

BEEF54

Hello All,

New Guy Here, currently I am a civilian Airline Pilot. I want to serve my country, and am basically bored with patrolling the friendly skies in a bus. I'm in the process of completing my OCS package for the Coast Guard. I understand that it is extremly competetive and if I do not get selected this time around I plan on enlisting and trying again later. I was wondering if i could get some help from some of you who have gone through this process before. Could someone please review my narrative for me, i was not really sure what tone to write it in. I'd love some advice/reviews. Thank you for your help.

Doug

picklesuit

Dirty Hinge
pilot
Contributor
Hey, welcome aboard...
I did pretty much exactly what you are talking about...in the Navy...and it worked for me. (I'm sure if you dig through my old posts you will see it laid out in painful detail)

I had my degree already so it made that part easy. If you are dead set on the Coast Guard, then that may be the way for you (I really don't know anything about their process, again, I'm Navy)

Maybe give a thought to the Navy. We are a little bigger, there are a few more spots...and we have some nice planes that shoot guns and drop bombs! (or sonobouys)

Good luck...
Pickle

JD81

FUBIJAR
pilot
The only thing I would say, and coming from this O-1 it isnt much, I WOULD NOT enlist and count on getting picked up down the road, unless you truly just want to serve in which case +1 for you. I would just apply as many times as it takes, it took me 3 times and 1.5 years to finally get selected.