• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Chances of becoming a fighter pilot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aarkh

Hi guys, Im really new to Naval Aviation, I've been reading up on the USAF stuff.

I was wondering what are the chances of someone going into the Navy and becoming a pilot of say an F/A-18?

I've always wanted to fly fighter jets since I was little. The USAF sounds like its pretty hard to become a pilot there. Any Expirence out there?

ControlledBurn

ERAU Student
Granted, I haven't gotten there yet, but as one of my instructors (A former Top Gun) loves to say of Naval Aviation, if it were easy, we'd let the Air Force do it.

beau

NON!!!..................................Needs Of Navy

Something every Stud wants to predict, but really cant! You can kick some butt at Primary (flight school phase#1) and still not select your first choice.

Squid

F U Nugget
pilot
1 in 3.480735^23

at least if you mention you considered the air force to anyone in your chain of command

paikea

Eight-year-olds, Dude.
If you're in the 13-17 range try the US Naval Sea Cadet Corps.

http://www.seacadets.org/

They can help you get prepared for a military career if that's what you want to do. Personally, I'm with them because I know it'll look good on an ROTC app.

Squid

F U Nugget
pilot
no, pi's waaay rounder. then you gotta worry about pieces of pi, and who gets the biggest.

/threadjack

kmac

Coffee Drinker
pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor