• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Career Progression via TPS

rottweiler

I've been lurking around google and this forum for a while now and am having trouble finding some of the answers I'm looking for. I'm a mechanical design engineer working for a small aerospace R&D company who recently took the ASTB for the first time (70/9/8/8) and is considering applying to naval or marine OCS under an aviation contract. I love my job- it pays well and it's a gearhead's dream- but I have an adventurous bent that I feel isn't being satisfied, and now that I've spent time exploring the career options for military pilots and spent a few hours behind the stick I can't stop daydreaming about flying.
I'm having trouble finding up to date or reliable information about monthly or per-tour flight hours in the navy and marine corps, particularly for fighter and helo peeps. The the recruiters I talked to don't know, and the pilots I've spoken to either haven't winged or are too old to answer accurately. I don't really need an exact monthly rate, but am I justified in hoping to have enough MWS flight hours by the end of my first tour to apply to TPS, or is that something jet pilots these days have to wait until their third tour or second contract to do? The navy website encourages people to apply after their JO tour, but I'm also hearing most jet guys aren't hitting the quota by that point.

croakerfish

pilot
It would be tough to predict that for you in any case, regardless of current numbers. Keep in mind even if you hit the wickets for TPS there are a lot of other factors that play in to whether or not you can get it, some of which are out of your control.

FormerRecruitingGuru

Making Recruiting Great Again