• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Career Change to Coast Guard

kymasp

Okay here is the skinny,

I am 27 years old and am looking for a career change into a field I would really enjoy. The military has always been of interest to me, especially the Coast Guard's aviation. I am a graduate from an aviation program with a BS in Aeronautical Science: Professional Pilot. I work full time as a CFI-I and have approximately 600 hrs flight time of fixed wing aircraft along with a ME rating.

I am looking into OCS and plan on going through the aviation program with the Guard, assuming certain things such as...

1) Am I too old for the USCG OCS flight program? If not..
2)Will having a BS in Aviation help with the application/selection process, and
3)Will the 600 hours of flight time I have be taken into account.

Assuming I meet/don't meet the criteria I have an appointment to speak with a recruiter 11/12/09 about some options and I would greatly appreciate any advice and/or honesty about my chances of becoming a USCG aviator.

( I have heard you are an Officer first, and aviator next. I am okay with this)

CoastieFlyer

Box Lunch Connoisseur
pilot
Well, to keep the answers brief....

1) You are cutting it pretty close, but see what the recruiter says. Our website FAQ's say you must be between the ages of 17-27, prior service up to age 29. See this LINK.

2) Not really, just having an undergrad degree of some sort is all that pretty much matters.

3) Your prior flight time will factor little, if any, on your chances of OCS. For your consideration for flight school, it may be an extenuating factor that could help, but it won't make or break you chances.