• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Big NROTC decision???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mark_Miller

Hopefully Future SNA
Hi I just found this board and so far its been a huge resource for me. But I have a few questions. Currently I am a freshman at Georgia Southern and flying has always been a passion for me, but I didnt think I could because of my eye sight but after researching all the PRK it looks like I might have a shot. The problem is Georgia Southern doesnt have NROTC, so I plain to transfer to probably Auburn and do their aviation program. My problem is I dont have enough hours to transfer yet. I will have 22 hrs this year and you need 30 to transfer. So I will have to wait til the end of my 2nd year to transfer. With my hours I would probably still be a sophmore so would I do the 4 yr NROTC program, or would I have to wait and try the 2 yr program? I have heard that the 4 yr program gives you a better chance for getting a pilots slot. Is this true? What would you recommend that I do? stay an extra year at Auburn and do the 4 yr program or do the 2 yr? Sorry for the length I just wanted to give all the details.

snizo

Supply Officer
If you are working on an engineering major, have you considered the Regents Engineering Program? It is a program set up all over Georgia (including Ga Southern) for people who want to start there and finish at Georgia Tech. GT does have a (well established) NROTC program. [Yes I see that you want to aviation ... but thought I would throw that out there]