• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

BDU tips and tricks

Status
Not open for further replies.
H

Honour_Class

I'm a naval officer but will need to wear BDU's for the first time at my next command. Can anyone point me towards some tricks of trade from those who wear these uniforms on a regular basis?

Thanks for your input!

Ok, first off, what community are you and where are you heading?

Now a few things I’ve noticed in my time in Boots and Utes

Sleeves are a ***** to roll. Button the sleeve on the first button, roll over the cuff aprox 1/2 an inch depending on the size of your arm (to give the cuff a smaller circumference) make sure you keep that circumference as you roll the sleeve, and keep the fabric very tight

you shouldn't starch your uniform bc the starch lights up like a x-mas tree in inferred. but if you aren't going on in the field, about a can a uniform will work nicely. I know a lot of ppl take them out in town and have them starched and pressed, which looks pretty sharp.

Pretty likely everything will be a little large when you get it, so wash it in hot water.

Order your covers a little small so it rests on top your head. you can use cardboard to help it keep it's shape, especially in the front.

There will be IP’s from hell every time BDU's come out of the dryer

Blousing straps suck, make sure you have them over your boots or they will dig into your leg.

phrogdriver

More humble than you would understand
pilot
Super Moderator
Well, first stop calling them BDUs. Even in the Navy, you're still better off calling them "cammies" or "utilities."

jagges84

Semper Gumby "Always Flexible"