• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Aviator progression in the Navy

Warner

EDIT: I didn't mean to exclude the Marines or Coast Guard from the thread title. Your response would be equally appreciated, as things are likely different from the Navy.

Fellow aviators, I'm an Army officer and UH-60 pilot here in the very initial stages of gathering some information from the other services about how aviators are trained and developed. Intent is to possibly turn this into a research paper looking at how we progress aviators in the Army, if there are significant differences.

I'm hoping that you can paint a picture for me, in as much detail as you care to give, of the typical progression (in terms of flight hours and time in service, who you fly with, and level of responsibility both in and out of the cockpit) of an Aviator or NFO in your community until becoming an aircraft/mission commander. I'm most interested in hearing from the H-60 community, the single seat F/A-18 community, and the two seat F/A-18 community. For F/A-18s, I'm especially interested in how pilots make the transition to flying without anyone at another set of controls. And at that point, how is further instruction or a check-ride conducted?

If anyone can point me in the direction of some further reading (a course syllabus, book, article, research paper, etc.) that would be most appreciated too.

As an example, I'll share with you how things look for a rotary wing Army Aviator:

First year and 100 hours, whether an O-1 or WO1, the officer is in flight school, flying with civilian instructors who have 4,000-10,000+ hours. Learn to hover, take off and land, talk on the radio, respond to emergencies, fly instruments in the civil airspace, and navigate low level.