• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

ASTB Version 5

pulley

Keys for success on the ASTB Version 5

How I studied:

-ARCO "Officer Candidate Tests"
-ARCO "Military Flight Aptitude Tests"
-Math/Mechanical/Aviation Gouge:
http://www.columbia.edu/~mmx1/astb/ASTBgouge.pdf
-Marine Mechanical Gouge:
http://www.columbia.edu/~mmx1/astb/ASTBmechanical.pdf
-Online Boaters Safety Course
-NOMI ASTB Sample Questions
http://www.nomi.med.navy.mil/NAMI/astb/ASTB Website Sample Questions.doc

Math: Study the math knowledge problems from the latest edition of the ARCO books and you shoud be golden. Focus on the Math Knowledge questions because there are more of them, rather than the Math Reasoning questions because there aren't that many word problems. In addition, this gouge is very helpful: http://www.airwarriors.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=8&d=1077514867
*I absolutely cannot emphasize this enough, make sure you know how to quickly and accurately do the math problems. Practice them until you can do them in your sleep.

Reading Comprehension: Success in this section requires that you keep your personal biases on the paragraph topic at bay and allow your answer to rest solely on the facts stated in the paragraph. Again, the ARCO books, more specifically the practice questions in "Officer Candidate Tests" helped out a lot. Be able to read at a constant pace and be decisive in your answers. I guarantee there will be a paragraph about Native Americans that will make you go WTF?? the first time you read it. Carefully re-read any paragraph like that and you will begin to understand it better.