• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

A few questions about side load/advanced standing.

Tex15

I'm a sophomore MIDN 3/C currently applying for a (two year) side load scholarship. There is a shockingly low amount of information out there on these, so I was hoping some of you here might have some wisdom to offer.

(Disclaimer: I have extensively researched this, both on airwarriors and other sites, and have not found any relevant, up-to-date information that satisfactorily answers my questions.)

1. Exactly how competitive are two-year scholarships, particularly for LREC/tier 3 applicants? NSTC says 202 are to be awarded with 85% going to tech majors, but what size and caliber of an applicant pool am I looking at?
  2. How much will not having taken calculus and physics hurt an applicant's chances? (There was a thread on this several years ago, but there was never really a definitive answer.) The papers they give my unit's four-year scholarship kids say those courses must be finished by sophomore year, but no where in the (limited) side load information have I found something that says it's mandatory, only 'recommended.' I would consider myself a fairly solid applicant otherwise, but will not having taken these classes kill me? (For what it's worth - and to avoid lecture - I recognize their importance in today's Navy and plan on taking them this summer. I didn't take them earlier because I didn't feel like I had developed good enough study habits yet and they would have screwed over my GPA.)
  3. How much of a factor do PT scores play in the application process for Navy? If important, what scores are considered competitive?