• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

34 and trying to get into the Navy...need some advice

eckloss

hello all

so in brief, here's my story:

im 34 years old, turning 35 in april 2010 (red flag #1).

i have a slight defect in my heart knows as "left ventricular diastolic dysfunction" and take a drug called Coreg, 3.125mg 2x daily. Red flag #2.

Ive been thinking about joining the navy for years. now time is running out.

my first choice of career was nuke, however, with an age cap of 27, im a bit passed that. second choice was information warfare, 3rd choice intel.

my degree is in business (what was i thinking back then??), however my gpa's were always high, and i scored a 98 on the asvab years ago when i took it for the army (thats a story in itself).

yesterday i drove the 70 miles to see my nearest officer recruiter. nice fellow, a medical officer of all things, though. he gave me some good info, but as with everything i do, i want 2nd opinions and more feedback, hence the reason im here.

a quick overview of what he told me:

- obviously nuke is out. im too old.

- intel or IW would probably not be an option, bc i didnt take calc at my university (i went to a private, top-notch high school and took 2 years of calc there, but they wont count that. they want college-accredited calc).

- the heart condition may require a waiver. hes sending me forms for my medical history for him to send to their doctor (all the services' officers recruiters and the meps station are all located in the same federal building in pittsburgh).