• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

What kind of camera to purchase?

flynsail

pilot
Looking to upgrade my current camera and I have no knowledge when it comes to buying a camera. What I was hoping to get from this camera is something that produces great photo quality and can capture movement such as sports games.

Not worried about the camera being bulky or needing different lenses. Looking at the reviews from CNET, it looks like a SLR camera may be the right choice. They had decent reviews on the Canon EOS Rebel XSi and the Nikon D80.

The Sony Cybershot DSC-W80 just doesn't produce the quality photos I was hoping for. It seems that a SLR camera may be better.

Any photographers willing to offer some insight? Thanks.

Oh yeah, price may determine what any suggestions are....I'm willing to spend near $1000.

Gatordev

pilot
Site Admin
Contributor
While visiting Webmaster last May, my camera died and it gave me the excuse of getting a dSLR. Hopefully Check Six will see the thread and give you his 20 bucks worth, but here was my take (he's a Canon guy, from what he's shared w/ me here).